There are some familiar and some new faces working on the Jayco Herald Sun Tour for 2019, get to know John Trevorrow and Scott McGrory.

About Jayco Herald Sun Tour General Manager and Women’s Race Director John Trevorrow

John Trevorrow is a stalwart of the Australian cycling scene and has helped scores of young Australian cyclists achieve their dream of racing professionally by organising many races in Victoria including the famous Herald SunTour.

In the ‘70s and ‘80s, Trevorrow became one of Australia’s most decorated pro cyclists. He represented Australia at the 1970 Commonwealth Games and the 1972 Summer Olympics. Trevorrow won the Australian national road race title in 1970 and then three years in a row in 1978, 1979 and 1980 and is also a three-time Herald SunTour champion.

John raced professionally in Europe, and rode the Giro d’Italia in 1981. He has been a long-time cycling journalist and commentator, with a global contact book the envy of many in the sport.

In 2019, John will be race director for the Women’s Herald Sun Tour while continuing his patriarchal duties as the event operations as Tour General Manager.


About Jayco Herald Sun Tour Race Director Scott McGrory OAM

Scott McGrory OAM is a former professional cyclist who combined huge success on the track and on the road during his career. As a teenager McGrory won bronze in the Team Pursuit at the Seoul 1988 Olympics before going on to claim gold at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games with Brett Aitken in the Madison.

McGrory’s 10 year professional career also included stints with professional teams in Europe where he made a name for himself in the six day track carnivals.

He has been a team manager, elite coach, cycling based television host and commentator, Tour de France reporter and is currently Race Director for the Cycling Australia Road Nationals.

In 2019, Scott will be the Race Director for the Jayco Herald Sun Tour.

Related Posts